Conservative MPs back leader Johnson in confidence vote by majority of 63

PRIME Minister Boris Johnson has survived a vote of no confidence from his own MPs by a majority of 63 votes.

After months of controversy over the activities within 10 Downing Street during lockdown, known as partygate, Johnson was informed yesterday that the 54 letters from Conservative MPs needed to trigger a vote of no confidence had been reached.

Then earlier today Sir Graham Brady, the chairman of the backbench 1922 Committee, confirmed that the vote would take place tonight between 6pm and 8pm by secret ballot.

Both Borders MPs – John Lamont who represents Berwickshire, Roxburgh and Selkirk and David Mundell who represents Dumfriesshire, Clydesdale and Tweeddale – announced that they had voted against the Prime Minister remaining in office.

211 MPs voted in favour of the Prime Minister whilst 148 voted against leaving him with a majority of 63.

The announcement was made at 9pm.


Border Telegraph | News