South Scotland list: Paul Wheelhouse fails to gain election

BORDERS politician Paul Wheelhouse has failed to get re-elected as an MSP for the South Scotland region.

Since 2011, the Berwickshire resident had been a Scottish National Party (SNP) member of the Scottish Parliament.

But Mr Wheelhouse has missed out on a return to Holyrood.

He finished runner-up in the Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire constituency – losing to Rachael Hamilton of the Conservatives – while Emma Harper is the sole SNP member who has been successful on the South Scotland list for 2021.

The list result was declared today (Saturday, May 8) in Dumfries.

Since 2018, Mr Wheelhouse, of Ayton, had served as the Scottish Government’s minister for energy, connectivity and the islands.

However, on the SNP’s regional list this year, Mr Wheelhouse occupied the third spot.

The only successful SNP candidate on the list was first-ranked Ms Harper.

This is the full South Scotland list

Scottish Conservatives: Craig Hoy, Brian Whittle, Sharon Dowey 

Scottish Labour: Colin Smyth, Carol Mochan, Martin Whitfield 

Scottish National Party: Emma Harper 

Border Telegraph | News